Zakynthos is a beautiful island. With an area of ​​410 km² there is much to do and see. Zakynthos belongs to the Ionian Islands Group. The islands of Lefkas, Corfu, Paxi, Kythira, Kefalonia and Ithaki are also islands of this group. Zakynthos is the third island in size of the islands in the Ionian Sea.

Zakynthos island

Zakynthos island

The Ionian islands lie between Greece and Italy. The capital of the island is Zakynthos city. Zakynthos is located in the south of the Ionian Sea and is also called “Zante”.

This name is due to the Romans and Venetians, who occupied the island for centuries. They also called the island “Il fioro di Levante”, which means “flower of the East”. The wind that blows from the east in the summer and cools the places on the east coast of Levante is also mentioned.

Stunning view at Navagio beach, Zakynthos island

Stunning view at Navagio beach, Zakynthos island

The name Zakynthos comes from the son of Dardanus who was called “Zakynthos”. Dardanus was the king of Troy and according to the myth he built the first city on the island. Others claim that the name is derived from the flower “Yakinthos” that is common in Zakynthos. According to Homer, the island belonged to the Kingdom of Odysseus. Homer called the island “Iliessa” which means woody.


M/Y Polaris

  • Length: 42.6m
  • Cabins: 5
  • Number of guests: 10
  • Crew: 9


  • Length: 55 mt
  • Cabins: 5
  • Number of guests: 11
  • Crew: 8

M/Y Ariela

  • Length: 40m
  • Cabins: 6
  • Number of guests: 12
  • Crew: 7
Copyright 2019
× How can I help you?

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.